Learn more about Leonardo da Vinci

1.1. Leonardo’s design for a worm gear which, in its basic construction, is still frequently used today. Modern applications include power gears and actuators, for example.

To top

1.2. The "Vitruvian Man" is a drawing by Leonardo da Vinci from the year 1492. With this study in proportions, Leonardo illustrates the thesis of Vitruvius (a Roman architect who lived from approximately 70 B.C. to 10 B.C.). The upright, standing figure of a man fits into the geometric shape of a square as well as a circle.

To top

1.3. This sketch shows a lifting device with a ratchet mechanism. Such ratchets are used to prevent the uncontrolled reverse rotation of a shaft. An example is the cable winch.

To top

1.4. This drawing is possibly the first city street map in history. It depicts the Italian city of Imola. In order to gather the data for the drawing, Leonardo paced the city street by street. For the measurements he used instruments which he designed himself. The representation is so accurate that, based on the map, even today one can orient oneself in the historic city centre of Imola, which has changed little since Leonardo’s time.

To top

2.1. The "Last Supper" is one of the most famous mural paintings in the world. Leonardo created it in the years 1494 to 1498 for the Milanese Duke Ludovico Sforza. It is located in the Dominican church Santa Maria delle Grazie in Milan, and represents the pinnacle of Leonardo’s artistic works!

To top

2.2. This study of a propeller was designed by Leonardo probably around 1471 as stage machinery for the theatre. Some historians of technology regard it as an early precursor of the helicopter. However, there is nothing to indicate that Leonardo believed the device to be capable of flight.

To top

2.3. The portrait of the “Lady with an Ermine” is one of the most famous of Leonardo’s paintings. It was created in the time from 1489 to 1490, and today is often described as the first modern portrait in history. It is housed in the Muzeum Narodowe (National Museum) in Krakow.

To top

2.4. This painting (oil on wood), created between 1513 and 1516, depicts St. John the Baptist. It is housed in the Musée du Louvre in Paris.

To top

3.1. Leonardo’s design for a roller bearing.

To top

3.2. Device for converting a rotational motion into a translational motion. A modern application can be found in electromotive linear drives.

To top

3.3. This drawing depicts a clock mechanism that can be regarded as a model for modern mechanical clocks.

To top

3.4. Portrait study drawn by Leonardo around 1475 to 1480.

To top

3.5. This drawing depicts a manually operated lens grinding machine, designed by Leonardo for grinding concave mirrors. The turning of a manual crank transfers a rotary motion to a horizontal stone disk (turntable) and a vertical stone disk (grinding wheel). By means of the different circular motions of the disks the concave mirror lying on the turntable is hollowed out and polished.

To top

Erfahren Sie mehr über Leonardo da Vinci.

1.1. Leonardos Entwurf eines Schneckengetriebes, wie es in seinem prinzipiellen Aufbau auch heute häufig Anwendung findet. Heutige Applikationen sind beispielsweise Leistungsgetriebe und Stellantriebe.

Nach oben

1.2. Der vitruvianische Mensch ist eine Zeichnung von Leonardo da Vinci aus dem Jahr 1492. Mit dieser Proportionsstudie illustriert Leonardo da Vinci die These des Vitruvius (römischer Architekt, ca. 70 v. Chr. bis ca. 10 v. Chr.), der aufrecht  stehende Mensch füge sich sowohl in die geometrische Form des Quadrates als auch des Kreises ein.

Nach oben

1.3. Diese Skizze zeigt ein Hebezeug mit einem Sperrklinkenmechanismus.  Derartige Sperrklinken werden eingesetzt, um ein unkontrolliertes Rückwärtsdrehen einer Welle zu verhindern. Ein Ausführungsbeispiel ist die Seilwinde.

Nach oben

1.4. Diese Zeichnung ist der wohl erste Stadtplan der Geschichte. Dargestellt ist die italienische Stadt Imola. Um die Daten zu der Zeichnung zu gewinnen, hat Leonardo die Stadt Straße für Straße abgeschritten. Für die Vermessung hat er selbstkonstruierte Vorrichtungen verwendet. Die Darstellung ist so genau, dass man sich anhand des Planes in der seit Leonardos Zeiten wenig veränderten Altstadt von Imola auch Heute noch orientieren kann.

Nach oben

2.1. Das Abendmahl zählt zu den berühmtesten Wandgemälden der Welt. Leonardo erschuf es in den Jahren 1494 bis 1498 im Auftrag des Mailänder Herzogs Ludovico Sforza. Es befindet sich in der Dominikanerkirche Santa Maria delle Grazie in Mailand. Der Höhepunkt des malerischen Schaffens Leonardos!

Nach oben

2.2. Diese Studie einer Luftschraube entwarf Leonardo vermutlich um 1471 als Bühnenmaschine für das Theater. Sie wird von manchen Technikhistorikern als früher Vorläufer des Hubschraubers angesehen. Es spricht allerdings Nichts dafür, dass Leonardo glaubte, das Gerät sei flugfähig.

Nach oben

2.3. Das Portrait der "Dame mit dem Hermelin" ist eines der berühmtesten Gemälde Leonardos. Es entstand in der Zeit zwischen 1489 und 1490 und wird Heute häufig als das "erste moderne Portrait" der Geschichte bezeichnet. Es befindet sich im Muzeum Narodowe, Krakau.

Nach oben

2.4. Dieses zwischen 1513-1516 entstandene Gemälde (Öl auf Holz) stellt Johannes den Täufer dar. Es befindet sich im Musée de Louvre in Paris.

Nach oben

3.1. Leonardos Entwurf eines Wälzlagers.

Nach oben

3.2. Vorrichtung zur Umwandlung einer rotatorischen Bewegung in eine translatorische Bewegung. Eine heutige Applikation findet sich in elektromotorischen Linearantrieben.

Nach oben

3.3. Die Zeichnung stellt ein Uhrwerk dar, das als Vorbild heutiger mechanischer Uhren angesehen werden kann.

Nach oben

3.4. Portraitstudie, die Leonardo etwa um 1475 - 1480 gezeichnet hat.

Nach oben

3.5. Die Zeichnung stellt eine manuell betriebene Linsenschleifmaschine dar, die von Leonardo zum Schleifen von Hohlspiegeln konzipiert wurde. Durch Betätigung einer Handkurbel wird auf eine horizontal angeordnete Steinscheibe (Drehteller) und eine vertikal angeordnete Steinscheibe (Schleifscheibe) eine Drehbewegung übertragen. Durch die unterschiedlichen Kreisbewegungen der Scheiben wird der auf dem Drehteller liegende Hohlspiegel ausgehöhlt und poliert.

Nach oben